The Dos Palos city jail at 2020 Almond Street opened for business in July, 1940 after being constructed in only four months.
According to an article in the May 23, 1940 edition of the Dos Palos Star, “The building is of reinforced concrete construction 26 x 36 feet and is fireproof. Detention quarters include two single cells approximately 10 x 10 feet each with bunks, and a “tank” 11 x 26 feet large enough to hold five to seven prisoners. The building also provides an office for the constable and jailer, with a private office for the constable.”
Inmates, jailers and constables have all come and gone, and now the historic 82-year-old building serves as the city’s museum, operated by the Dos Palos Historical Society since the 1990s. Like other small museums, it offers unique artifacts and glimpses into the town’s history that won’t be see in larger museums.
After being closed for more than two years, the Jailhouse museum will resume its normal schedule. It will be open the second and fourth Saturdays of each month from 10 a.m. to noon starting June 11. Admission is free but donations are greatly appreciated.